The Smoke-free Illinois Act prohibits smoking in virtually all public places and workplaces, including offices, theaters, museums, libraries, educational institutions, schools, commercial establishments, enclosed shopping centers and retail stores, restaurants, bars, private clubs and gaming facilities.
Illinois has taken this important step to protect its residents, workers and visitors from the harmful and hazardous effects of secondhand smoke.
1. Legislation passed on January 1, 2008 and was amended on February 4, 2009.
2. Law states: “No person shall smoke in a public place or in any place of employment or within 15 feet of any entrance to a public place or place of employment.”
3. Business owners may contact the Cumberland County Health Department for signs and window decals ( please call ahead so that we may have these ready for you when you arrive)
Business owners can also download the appropriate signs directly from the Smoke Free Illinois website.
Complaints may be made by anyone:
• Call the complaint line at 1-866-973-4646
• Go to the website www.smoke-free.illinois.gov
• Directly to the Cumberland County Health Department
New for 2016: Retailers of cigarettes and other tobacco products are required to obtain licenses.
As a result of Public Acts 98-1055, 99-78, and 99-192, effective January 1, 2016, the Cigarette Tax Act, 35 ILCS 130/1, et seq., and Tobacco Products Tax Act of 1995, 35 ILCS 143/10-1, et seq., require that all retailers of "cigarettes" as defined in Section 1 of the Cigarette Tax Act and all retailers of "tobacco products" as defined in Section 10-5 of the Tobacco Products Act must be licensed with the Illinois Department of Revenue to make sales of those products.
The license application cost as of January 1, 2016 is $75 and the annual renewal fee is $75. Retail sale of cigarettes and other tobacco products after January 1, 2016, without having first obtained a retailer's license is guilty of a Class 4 felony.
For information or forms visit: Cigarette Retailer's License
For registration and licensing questions, call: 217-785-3707